Home » Episodes » Series 1: Episodes 1 to 7

Series 1: Episodes 1 to 7

You can learn a lot about South Indian history and South Indian mythology from this series. We hope you enjoy these short excerpts from our animated folk tale.

Episode 1: In the Beginning

The Goddess Parvati creates nine farmer-brothers. A Chola king gives them land in Ponnivala. Lord Shiva curses the eldest due to the death of some cows.

Episode 2: A Young Orphan

To lessen the impact of his curse, Lord Shiva hides a baby under some stones. Found by Kolatta, the boy is loved. The couple die and the young boy is orphaned.

Episode 3: A Long Exile

The orphan is treated badly by clansmen and runs from place to place. He is mistreated by many but summons his courage. He is a survivor.

Episode 4: A Love Match

Finally the orphan boy is adopted by a rich farmer where he works as a shepherd. He grows up, then falls in love with the little sister of his masters.

Episode 5: A Magical Marriage

Lord Vishnu tells the shepherd orphan he is eligible to marry the girl he loves. They marry but her family banishes them. They leave for ancestral Ponnivala.

Episode 6: Roasted Seeds

The young couple reclaim one field from their rival clansmen who try to undercut them by giving them roasted seeds to sow. Lord Vishnu helps them out.

Episode 7: A Thousand Beggars

The roasted seeds grow, but there are more tricks. When jewels replace the maize grains, the Queen gives this new wealth to beggars. Lord Vishnu replenishes it.



Next Episodes >